Latest Awards

Washington Academy of Sciences

Awards for Scientific Achievement

 In order to recognize scientific work of merit and distinction, the Washington Academy of Sciences gives awards annually to scientists who work in the greater Washington D.C. area.

At the 2012 Awards Banquet, outgoing President Gerard Christman and incoming
President Jim Cole gave remarks, which are published in the summer 2012
issue of the Journal.  The keynote presentation, All About Mummies, was
given by Dr. David Hunt, Smithsonian Physical/Forensic Anthropologist.

Videos of the presentation and the award speeches can be seen here.

The history of the Awards program, begun in 1940, is literally a catalog of over 60 years of scientific achievement. While we have honored these scientists over the decades, we equally have been honored by our association with them.

To nominate someone for an award please print and complete the Award Nomination form.

Washington Academy of Sciences
Annual Meeting & Awards Banquet
May 10, 2012
Arlington, Virginia

Peg Kay Retires

Peg KayAt the Washington Academy of Sciences Awards Banquet in May, 2012, Peg Kay was awarded with an engraved silver plate and celebrated for her 25 years of dedicated service as President and later as Executive Director of the Academy. She organized five biennial Capital Science conferences, nine annual Awards ceremonies, and managed much of the ongoing work of the Academy.

From 1987 to 2011, Peg Kay was President of Vertech, Inc. a telecommunications consulting company. Earlier, she was Chief of Program Development for the Institute for Computer Sciences and Technology at the National Bureau of Standards (now National Institute of Standards and Technology). Peg Kay has been the recipient of a number of awards. While at the Institute of Computer Sciences and Technology, she received the Federal Laboratory Consortium Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer and a U.S. Department of Commerce Science and Technology Fellowship; she earned the Broadcast Industry Silver Anniversary Broadcast Preceptor Award for work done when she was a research associate at the Cable Television Information Center/Urban Institute; she was a Fellow-in-Residence at the Office of Telecommunications Policy/Executive Office of the President.

The contributions of the Kays to the Academy continue. In memory of her husband of 50 years, after his death in 2005 she established the Irvin W. Kay Memorial Fund for Science Education.

Peg Kay is the co-author of a textbook on public management, Government Oversight and Evaluability Assessment, which she has made available at no cost.

She recently published her first mystery novel, Me Tarzan, You Dead. She has dedicated all the royalties from book sales to the Academy, so please order a copy from Amazon.


Vera Rubin & Sethanne Howard
The Washington Academy of Sciences awarded Vera Cooper Rubin (left) with a Distinguished Career in Science award. Rubin is a Senior Fellow at the Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Washington. Also shown in the photo is award presenter Sethanne Howard of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.

Al Teich & Robert M. Groves
Behavioral Sciences and Social Sciences award recipient Robert M. Groves (right), Director of the U.S. Census Bureau. Shown with Groves is award presenter Al Teich, Research Professor of Science, Technology and International Affairs, George Washington University (filling in for Cora Marrett, Deputy Director of the National Science Foundation).

Kimberley Briggman & Jeesong Hwang
Biological Sciences award recipient Jeeseong Hwang (right), Research Biophysicist and Project Leader at the Radiation and Biomolecular Physics Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Shown with Hwang is award presenter Kimberley Briggman of NIST.

Neal Schmeidler, Jeffrey Fernandez & Mrs. Fernandez
Engineering Sciences award recipient Jeffrey E. Fernandez (center), Managing Principal at JF Associates and Mrs. Fernandez shown with award presenter Neal Schmeidler of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.

Adrianne Noe & Catherine With
History of Science award recipient Adrianne Noe (left), Director of the National Museum of Health and Medicine shown with award presenter Catherine With of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.

James Egenreider & Myra Lynn Koops Thayer
Lamberton Award for Elementary and Secondary Education awardee Myra Lynn Koops Thayer (right), Science Coordinator for Fairfax County Public Schools shown with award presenter James Egenrieder of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.

Michael Cohen & Roderick J. Little
Mathematics and Computer Sciences awardee Roderick J. Little (right), Associate Director for Research & Methodology and Chief Scientist, U.S. Census Bureau shown with award presenter Michael Cohen of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.

Geoffrey B. McFadden & Charles Romine
Mathematics and Computer Sciences award recipient Geoffrey B. McFadden (left), NIST Fellow. Shown presenting the award is Charles Romine, Director of the NIST Information Technology Laboratory.

James Olthoff & Katharine Gebbie
Physical Sciences awardee James K. Olthoff (left), Deputy Director of the Physical Measurement Laboratory at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Shown presenting the award is Katharine Gebbie, Director of the NIST Physics Laboratory.

David Leckrone & Paul Arveson
Service to Science awardee David S. Leckrone (left), Senior Project Scientist for the Hubble Space Telescope Program (ret.), NASA. Shown with Leckrone is award presenter Paul Arveson of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.

Comments are closed.