Awards Banquet 2012

May 10, 2012
Arlington, Virginia

Peg Kay Retires

Peg_KayAt the Washington Academy of Sciences Awards Banquet in May, 2012, Peg Kay was awarded with an engraved silver plate and celebrated for her 25 years of dedicated service as President and later as Executive Director of the Academy. She organized five biennial Capital Science conferences, nine annual Awards ceremonies, and managed much of the ongoing work of the Academy.   We are deeply grateful for her talents and leadership as the Academy moves to all-volunteer status!

More details about the life and career of Peg Kay are here.

The keynote speaker was Dr. David Hunt, Physical-Forensic Anthropologist of the Smithsonian Institution.  His talk was titled:  “Mummy Research at the National Museum of Natural History: Non-Invasive Research for the ‘Eternal Life in Ancient Egypt’ Exhibit.”



rubin_howard2The Washington Academy of Sciences awarded Vera Cooper Rubin (left) with a Distinguished Career in Science award. Rubin is a Senior Fellow at the Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Washington. Also shown in the photo is award presenter Sethanne Howard of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.


Behavioral Sciences and Social Sciences award recipient Robert M. Groves (right), Director of the U.S. Census Bureau. Shown with Groves is award presenter Al Teich, Research Professor of Science, Technology and International Affairs, George Washington University (filling in for Cora Marrett, Deputy Director of the National Science Foundation).


briggman_hwang2Biological Sciences award recipient Jeeseong Hwang (right), Research Biophysicist and Project Leader at the Radiation and Biomolecular Physics Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Shown with Hwang is award presenter Kimberley Briggman of NIST.


Engineering Sciences award recipient Jeffrey E. Fernandez (center), Managing Principal at JF Associates and Mrs. Fernandez shown with award presenter Neal Schmeidler of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.


noe_with2History of Science award recipient Adrianne Noe (left), Director of the National Museum of Health and Medicine shown with award presenter Catherine With of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.


Lamberton Award for Elementary and Secondary Education awardee Myra Lynn Koops Thayer (right), Science Coordinator for Fairfax County Public Schools shown with award presenter James Egenreider of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.


Mathematics and Computer Sciences awardee Roderick J. Little (right), Associate Director for Research & Methodology and Chief Scientist, U.S. Census Bureau shown with award presenter Michael Cohen of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.


Mathematics and Computer Sciences award recipient Geoffrey B. McFadden (left), NIST Fellow.   Shown presenting the award is Charles Romine, Director of the NIST Information Technology Laboratory.



Physical Sciences awardee James K. Olthoff (left), Deputy Director of the Physical Measurement Laboratory at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Shown presenting the award is Katharine Gebbie, Director of the NIST Physics Laboratory.

Service to Science awardee David S. Leckrone (left), Senior Project Scientist for the Hubble Space Telescope Program (ret.), NASA. Shown with Leckrone is award presenter Paul Arveson of the Washington Academy of Sciences Board of Managers.