Awards Banquet 2013

October 10, 2013
Arlington, Virginia

Speaker: Sam Kean
Author, “The Violinist’s Thumb” 

This is Sam Kean’s second appearance as our guest speaker; in 2011 he gave a fascinating presentation based on his earlier book, “The Disappearing Spoon”.  With a masterful combination of science, history, and culture, Sam Kean untangles the secrets of our genetic code, explaining how genetics has shaped our past, and how DNA will determine humankind’s future.

2013-image002Washington Academy of Sciences Annual Awards Banquet,
Fall 2013
(All photos by Duy Tran Photography.)
2013-image006Master of ceremonies Terrell Erickson, President-Elect of the Washington Academy of Sciences, and banquet speaker Sam Kean.


Sam Kean intrigues the audience in this video on “The Violinist’s Thumb”.

2013-image008Keynote speaker Sam Kean engaging the audience.

Awards Ceremony

At the conclusion of Dr. Hunt’s fascinating presentation, Academy President Terrell Erickson and Awards Chair Sethanne Howard  introduced awards recipients.

Washington Academy of Sciences Past President Al Teich (left) and Science Policy award recipient David Goldston.

2013-image014Washington Academy of Sciences Awards Committee Chair Sethanne Howard presenting the Distinguished Career in Science award to astronomer Nancy Roman, NASA retired (in absentia due to illness).

2013-image016Attendees enjoying the Awards Ceremony speakers.

2013-image018David Goldston, Director of Government Affairs for the Natural Resources Defense Council, accepting the award for Science Policy.

2013-image020Al Teich, Research Professor of Science, Technology and International Affairs at the George Washington University, presenting the award for Science Policy.

Washington Academy of Sciences President-Elect Terrell Erickson presenting the Environmental Sciences award to recipient Dennis Thompson (not photographed), National Range and Grazing Lands Ecologist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Wakefield High School (Arlington, Virginia) Principal Betty Sanders (left), who presented the Lamberton Award; award recipient Verlese Gaither, and Washington Academy of Sciences President Jim Egenrieder.

Verlese Gaither accepting the Lamberton Award for Elementary and Secondary Education.

2013-image028Stuart Antman, Distinguished University Professor at the University of Maryland’s Institute for Physical Science and Technology, presenting the award for Mathematics and Computer Sciences.

2013-image030Mathematics and Computer Sciences award recipient Pete Stewart (left), Distinguished University Professor Emeritus at the Institute of Advanced Computer Studies, University of Maryland; and Stuart Antman.

2013-image032Martin Apple (far left), Past President of the Council of Scientific Society Presidents; Health Sciences award recipient Douglas Wear, Pathogologist with the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology; and Health Sciences award nominator Mina Izadjoo, Senior Distinguished Scientist and Director of the Diagnostics and Translational Research Center of the Henry Jackson Foundation.

Washington Academy of Sciences Vice President for Affiliated Societies Richard Hill.

2013-image038Washington Academy of Sciences Past President James Cole of the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory.

2013-image040Katharine Gebbie, a long-time director of the Physics Laboratory at the National Institute for Standards and Technology (retired), presenting one of the awards for Mathematics and Computer Sciences.

2013-image036Katharine Gebbie (left) and Mathematics and Computer Sciences award recipient Mary Theofanos, Computer Scientist at the Information Technology Laboratory, National Institute for Standards and Technology.

2013-image042Nominator Bhatka Rath, Associate Director of Research at the Naval Research Laboratory, presenting award for Chemistry.

2013-image044Carter White, Senior Scientist at the Naval Research Laboratory, accepting the award for Chemistry.

2013-image046Washington Academy of Sciences Vice President for Affiliated Societies, Richard Hill (left) and the Academy’s Secretary, Jeff Plescia.

2013-image048Washington Academy of Sciences 2013 Awards Banquet attendees listening to keynoter Sean Kean.

Congratulations to all for their scientific achievements!