Awards Banquet 2014

May 8, 2014
Washington, DC
Dr. Neal Barnard speaks at the 2014 Annual Awards Dinner
Dr. Neal Barnard, keynote speaker at the Annual Awards Dinner

WAS Annual Awards Banquet a Great Success!

To recognize scientific work of merit and distinction, the Washington Academy of Sciences gives awards annually to scientists, engineers, and teachers who work in the greater Washington D.C. area. Attendance at the Annual Awards Banquet on May 8, 2014 exceeded our expectations. Additional tables had to be brought in at the last minute. Everyone enjoyed meeting and greeting our award winners at this event, one of the highlights of every year for the Academy. The banquet was held at The Sphinx Club in downtown Washington DC. The keynote speaker was Dr. Neal Barnard, Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine at the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences. He gave a challenging scientific talk on the health benefits of a vegetarian diet. Photos of the award winners and their citations are posted below. Congratulations to all of these distinguished scientists!

Muhammad Arif of NIST receives 2014 Physical Sciences Award from Lisa Karam. Photo by Al Teich.
Ronald Boisvert of NIST receives Math & Computer Science Award. Photo by Al Teich.
Eric Elster, Uniformed Services University, receives Health Sciences award from Mina Izadjoo. Photo by Al Teich.
David Danner of IDEAMATICS receives Engineering Award from Neal Schmeidler. Photo by Al Teich.
Jerri Anne Cupero
Jerri Anne Cupero receives the Lamburton Award for the Teaching of Science from Jim Egenrieder. Photo by Al Teich.
Marilyn Buford
Marilyn A. Buford receives Award for Lifetime Achievement in Natural Resources Sciences from Daina Apple. Photo by Al Teich.
Jack Williams
Jack Williams, American Meteorological Society, receives Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Public Understanding of Science from Al Teich.
Debra Lee Kaiser
Debra Lee Kaiser of NIST receives Award for Distinguished Career in Science. Photo by Al Teich.

Congratulations to all these well-deserving awardees!