Awards Banquet 2010

Meadowlark Botanical Gardens
May 17, 2010

The Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet took place in the Atrium at Meadowlark Botanical Gardens on May 17, 2010. For the first time since we’ve met at Meadowlark, it rained and for the first time.  Past President and VP for Affiliates Al Teich took photos from the Great Indoors.

Cellist David Teie

Our speaker in 2010 was David Teie (pronounced tie). A cellist with the National Symphony Orchestra, David was commissioned by Leonard Slatkin and the National Symphony to write one of the Hechinger encores, Fuga Eroica which received its premiere with the NSO in February of 2004, and in November of 2005 premiered his Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra with the Anchorage Symphony. In 2005 -2006 David developed and outlined the first comprehensive theory that attempts to explain the cognitive processes involved in our appreciation of music. Working with Charles T. Snowdon at the University of Wisconsin, they studied the affect of David’s species-specific music on cotton-topped tamarin monkeys, resulting in the first controlled study that demonstrated significant and appropriate responses to music from any species other than human. David is currently working with Jagmeet Kanwal at Georgetown University to see if combination sensitivity is involved in emotional response to music, as David’s theory predicts. He is also working with Erica Kennedy at Frostburg State University on continued testing of species-specific music on cotton-topped tamarins.

Award Recipients 2010

Karl Pribram

The Distinguished Career in Science Award was presented to Karl Pribram, Distinguished Research Professor, Department of Psychology (Cognitive Neuroscience Program) Georgetown University.

Carl Williams

The Physical Sciences Award was presented to Carl Williams, Chief, Atomic Physics Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Co-Director, Joint Quantum Institute (JQI), and Adjunct Professor, University of Maryland Applications for Tomorrow.

Jeffrey Mason

The Biological Sciences Award was presented to Jeffrey Mason, Co-Director, DVBIC-Armed Forces Institute of Pathology, Brain Injury Center, Chief, Division of Biophysics, Clinical Sciences Division AFIP, and Administrative Director, AFIP Magnetic Resonance Microscopy Facility.

Stuart Antman

The Mathematics and Computer Science Award was presented to Stuart Antman, Distinguished University Professor Institute for Physical Science and Technology, Department of Mathematics, University of Maryland.

Jay Sanders

The Health Sciences Award was presented to Dr. Jay Sanders, President and CEO of The Global Telemedicine Group, Professor of Medicine at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (Adjunct), and a founding board member of the American Telemedicine Association where he serves as President Emeritus.

Martin Ogle

The Krupsaw Award for Non-Traditional Teaching Award was presented to Martin Ogle, Chief Naturalist, Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority.

Francesca Grifo

The Science Policy Award was presented to Francesca Grifo, Director and Senior Scientist, Scientific Integrity Program, Union of Concerned Scientists.

Stanley Winkler

A Special Award for Service to the Academy (Posthumous) was given to Stanley Winkler. This special award is in recognition of his many years of devoted, effective service to the Junior Academy.