The Washington Academy of Sciences
2021 Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet

Thursday, September 9, 2021
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM
Ceresville Mansion
8529 Liberty Road
Frederick, MD 21701
Ceresville Mansion
Ceresville Mansion

Please come and invite your friends to the Academy’s annual event when we recognize the achievements of many local scientists, engineers, and educators and introduce our incoming Officers.
Tickets are $70 each.  

Purchase tickets via Eventbrite here.

(You do not need to login to Eventbrite.)

Past Presentations

 The Washington Academy of Sciences now includes on this website an archive of audio, video and slide presentations sponsored or submitted by members of the Academy.    Please visit our presentations page for a list of these fascinating presentations such as our recent one by Vint Cerf, one of the Fathers of the Internet, shares “Lessons from the Internet”. Cerf is the co-designer of the TCP/IP protocols and the architecture of the Internet.  Watch his presentation here.

Announcing 2020 Awards

The Washington Academy of Sciences is pleased to announce its awards for 2020 to recognize work of merit and distinction of scientists and leaders in the greater Washington area. Although we could not celebrate the awardees at our traditional banquet this year, we hosted an online event to meet them on Sept. 10, 2020.
The award recipients are listed here.

The keynote speaker for the 2020 Awards Ceremony was 
Dr. Yolanda Gil.
 Her talk was titled: “Thoughtful Artificial Intelligence:  Forging A New Partnership for Data Science and
Scientific Discovery”. 
See her presentation here.  

Since 1898, the Washington Academy of Sciences has served as the affiliation of Washington D.C. area scientific societies. The formation of the Academy culminated a decade of planning under the leadership of the Philosophical Society of Washington. The founders included Alexander Graham Bell and Samuel Langley, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution. The purpose of the new Academy was to encourage the advancement of science and “to conduct, endow, or assist investigation in any department of science.” That purpose guided the Academy throughout its first 100 years and will continue to be our guide through the current century.

Among our nearly 60 Affiliated Societies and Institutions are Meadowlark Gardens and the D.C. Historical Society
Among the recipients of The Washington Academy’s Seals of Approval are Karl Pribram’s The Form Within: My Point of View and Dan Berleant’s The Human Race to the Future – What Could Happen And What to Do.
Among the recipients of The Washington Academy’s Awards for Scientific Work of High Merit are Harry Diamond for Engineering in 1941 and John Mather for Physical Sciences in 2006
Harry Diamond
Harry Diamond
John Mather
John Mather

The Washington Academy of Sciences has published articles of scientific interest continuously since 1899, first as The Proceedings until 1911, when it became The Journal of the Washington Academy of Sciences. The Tables of Contents of 100+ issues of the Journal are listed here.